Dog Licensing

DOG LICENSE FEES

Licensing dogs is a State of Vermont law. 20 V.S.A 3550 (a) A person who fails to license a dog in the required manner may be fined up to $500.

man-walking-dog

Animal Control Officer: Janine Manninen (802)-485-4585.


Fees: on or before April 1st of each year:
Spayed/neutered dogs: $9.00
Non-spayed/non-neutered dogs: $13.00

Fees: after April 1st of each year:
Spayed/neutered dogs: $11.00
Non-spayed/non-neutered dogs: $17.00

All dogs housed in Roxbury and East Roxbury, over 6 months of age must be licensed with town of residence. All dogs over 3 months of age must be vaccinated. A valid rabies certificate is required.
Contact the Town Clerk’s Office at 485-7840 for more information.


VERMONT SPAY NEUTER INCENTIVE PROGRAM (VSNIP)
VSNIP reduces pet overpopulation by helping eligible Vermonters afford to have their dogs and cats spayed or neutered. The program is 100% funded by a surcharge on dog registrations so funds are limited.

Low-income families/persons can apply for funds to cover the spay/neuter of their dogs/cats. Click here for VT Spay Neuter Program (VNSIP) information and application.


Be advised that leash laws are in effect in Roxbury/East Roxbury. Dogs must be under the control of their owner(s) at all times. For safety and visibility, keep a safety-orange bandana around the dog’s neck, especially during hunting seasons.